Today

3 Oct

So my day went as follows….
5:00am- awake to my alarm in a NyQuil induced hangover
5:05am- on the treadmill, checking email, studying lines and browsing Facebook
5:50am- next alarm sounds…get off treadmill, get coffee, stretch, start to wake all 5 children
6:00am- get in the shower and brush teeth too, while Madilyn gets ready for school in the room with me (disadvantage of 1 and a half bathrooms)
6:15am- exit shower, dress quickly and dose medications for 2 kids. Madilyn’s now includes an antibiotic for her double ear infection and strep throat. Tyler takes his 3, and the morning battle of getting him ready begins.
6:30am- I eat something GF as quickly as I can and go down to remove laundry from the dryer, start a wash load (whites on hot) and head back up stairs. I make sure everyone gets breakfast and brushes their hair and teeth and ensure one cold lunch is packed.
6:45am- I hug and kiss Madilyn and Noah and send them out to the bus
6:50am- start the dishwasher and instruct Breanna on the events of the day, as she needs to pick Samuel up from school at 3:00.
7:00am- finish my make-up in the kitchen while fighting with 30 or more prompts to get Tyler to get dressed and ready for his bus to his behavioral program.
7:15am- make sure Samuel is packed for school, pack my work bag, put breakfast dishes in the sink, wipe the table.
7:20am- catch a few minutes of the Today show before I make sure Tyler’s point sheet is signed, insure him that I love him, not matter how frustrated he makes me, and have him get his jacket and shoes on…this takes far longer than it should, as he is distracted by everything he sees.
7:30am- send Tyler out to the bus, turn off lights and head out to take Samuel to school.
7:45am- arrive downtown to drop Samuel off when the parking police informs me that you can’t park where I am, even for school drop off(although I always have) even with my school parking sign and my handicapped plates…and tells me to park down the block. I walk Samuel to school, take him up to his floor and hug him and kiss him good-bye. I remind him that Breanna will pick him up.
8:00am- arrive at my day job where I will work until 4:30….it was a hard day, so I cried, a lot…luckily I work with some awesomely loving friends. I did get to have a delightful lunch with a friend, and I was grateful.
5:10pm-I arrive home, hug and kiss all of the kids, insure they have dinner and move the laundry around. I quickly change out of my work clothes so I can make it to my evening gig (acting….performance art, actually). I try to fix my make-up, as I have cried, and pack my bag to go.
5:25pm- my ride arrives. I know my dear friend will make sure the kids all get bathed and get their meds, get teeth brushed, etc.
5:45pm- we get to the location and do our make-up hair and get into costume.
6:30pm- we quickly run through the piece before the performance.
6:50pm- we head to the performance space and perform the teaser intro.
7:15pm- our performance begins….it was fun and different and I am now a sweaty mess.
7:45pm-we return to the original location, wash up and change and return to the reception.
8:00pm-9:15pm- we mingle with the crowd and have some wine. I get one of the dearest compliments of my life by someone who reads this blog…thank you deeply and greatly…that meant the world to me…I feel so honored.
9:20pm- we leave and grab a bite to eat for dinner on the way home at a cheap but tasty 24 hour Mexican place.
9:38pm- arrive at home, pick up, clean, tuck in the youngest two boys, visit a bit with the order kids and head to the shower.
10:15pm-get to my room to write this, watch recorded Dr. Phil…there is a knock at the door and Madilyn has lost her final baby tooth….she is excited that the tooth fairy will come tonight. Time to scrape up cash.
10:20-10:57pm- write this and start Dr. Phil. It’s about parents that are out of control and making their kid out of control crazy, which makes me feel like I am doing okay.
11:00pm- publish this so I can get in bed to watch tv until I know that Madilyn is asleep and assure that the tooth fairy does not fall asleep on the job.
12:00am- by then I hope to take a swig of NyQuil, as my cough is pretty awful, and get a little sleep.

Leave a comment